The First 4 Years

1. That thing that happened in high school that pretty much changed your life forever

So naturally high school is the first 4 years that inevitably changed my life. Do I think that high school typically changes everyone’s life? Eh, I wouldn’t be so bold to say that…

I can say at the time I tried to justify most of, if not all, my actions in high school as a time of experimenting. Pushing the limits if you will. 

And with that said, it should be no surprise that I experienced many things in high school that seemed to play a large part in how my life has changed. It isn’t easy trying to just narrow it down to just one.

So here are some key events in high school that well I don’t go very long without looking back on..

1.) Freshmen year – My dad was deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan and I may or may not have been picked on by “friends” while he was away, I cried a lot that year for a lot of reasons

2.) Sophomore year – Stopped crying started smoking and drinking, I was tired of feeling defeated. Tired of crying. I was angry, and everybody knew it.

3.) Junior year – Got really sick landed myself in the hospital, low point. Probably one of the most significant things I’ve experienced. The change wasn’t immediate but today when I look back and start thinking I was really living life then; and that I’m missing out now.. it isn’t long ’til I see myself there and I’m reminded why I don’t live that way anymore.

4.) Senior year – So I might not have made any changes by this year but have you heard that quote that says, “I don’t make the same mistake twice….I make it 5 or 6 times just to make sure.” Yes, well that would be the theme for my SR year and even the few months following. But towards the end of my senior year my younger brother was struggling with some real life things. IE suicidal thoughts, and even attempting suicide. I won’t go into depth because my little brother’s life doesn’t need to be shared but his trials indirectly caused me to seek refuge… Didn’t know where or how to find it but I found myself here as an active member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, we believe that family’s can be together forever. I was and am willing to do everything/anything to be eligible of such a blessing.

So I guess that was the big thing that really changed my life forever.

Until tomorrow
XOXO 

Leave a Reply

