2013 was like a bowl of cherries

Well since everyone I know has gone back to work and the puppy of mine has gone to take a well deserved nap… I’ve had some time to think..

Considering how it’s New Years Eve I have had quite the year, and I don’t think I ever thought this year would have gone the way it has…

At the beginning of 2013 I was working as a waitress, contemplating serving a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, and trying to fill my time productively when I wasn’t working.

But this year I’ve made a lot of new discoveries about life, and about myself. 

I’ve discovered that I can change the qualities about myself that I don’t like. I’ve learned that I don’t have to settle for the way that I am because if I want to be better I know I can achieve that. 

I.E. wanting to be more sincere, patient, and kind towards others and myself… I haven’t mastered it but I know I’ve gotten better at it

I’ve learned that this life is like… a bowl of cherries.. preferably the dark ones because I like those best.. and sometimes you get so caught up in the deliciousness of life you choke on a pit.. and you’ll probably struggle or you might needa friend for the Heimlich maneuver but when it’s all said and done you’ll laugh about it later. 

Speaking of laughter… everyone knows that its been scientifically proven that laughing is good for you.

Discovery Channel says:

10: It Decreases Stress
9: It Helps Coping Skills
8: It Improves Blood Pressure and Flow
7: It Provides a Burst of Exercise
6: It Impacts Blood Sugar Levels
5: It Manages Pain
4: It Boosts Your Social Skills
3: It Reduces Aggression
2: It Energizes Organs
1: It Boosts the Immune System

My Point is.. Finding the humor in life and being able to laugh at it will only improve your life. And that’s all I have to say about that.

But I digress..

I’ve had some really, really, really wonderful and great laughs this year. I won’t lie and say this year has been nothing but fun, but this year has certainly been filled with good times.

I’ve done a lot of traveling this year as well, I’ve been so blessed to have had the opportunity to go to all the places I’ve gone to.. Although I’ve only traveled within the U.S this year I hope next year I’ll be able to take advantage of adventures outside the U.S.

I’ve been able to finish another year of school, and I did it with some of the best people around. 

I’ve made a lot of new friendships this year, and held on tight to others. I honestly know some of the best people, and don’t get me wrong I’m sure you do as well but I’m just saying I’m really grateful for the wonderful people I’ve been so blessed to come to know.

And this year I think I’d go as far as to say that I have no regrets! This year I had the chance to do everything I could’ve dreamed of doing!

General Conference, Two weddings, did great in school, dated, kissed a boy or two, sang, danced, and then danced some more, late nights, long drives, lots of fast food, cried, wept, moved into a new apartment, laughed, cried because I was laughing so hard, read books, watched too many movies, played in the snow, fell on the ice, played with puppies, told the right people that I loved them, said good-bye to others.

This year has been good to me. Sweet in every way, and I wouldn’t say that I’m bitter in any way. 

I hope you find the blessings of 2013 before it’s up. I also hope 2014 has nothing but good vibes, good times, with even better people for you and me.

 

Leave a Reply

