Fertile Moaning Myrtle

My first post about class! Ugh, to be completely honest I’m not quite sure what direction I want to take this post.. So I figure that I’ll just ramble for awhile and perhaps this post will amount to a little something..

Earlier this week for class we had to read the first chapter of our book, Marriage & Family The Quest for Intimacy. There were a couple of interesting things in the chapter.. and continuing with honesty, by the time I had finished all thirty pages of the chapter my brain was about ready to explode with all the information on the different types of loneliness, the need for intimacy, and myths about relationships and marriages.

Another assignment for class we had to watch this 2 hour video on demographics which was also interesting. Now for everyone that hasn’t seen the movie and for those of you that don’t know what demographics are, let me be as so kind as to define it for you.

demographic

Basically this incredibly long movie was about the concern of the current fertility rate (the rate when the movie was actually produced) and how there was reason to be concerned that the Earth would become over populated and we would all die. (That’s an over exaggeration but basically that’s what it meant, sorta.)

Which btw the fertility rate has decreased significantly. Lower than ya mama can get on the dance floo’, teehee.. Seriously though it’s a problem we aren’t replacing ourselves. A good example of what will happen is the current economic issues in Greece. Some people have signed contracts to retire at 55 and because they never had a “baby boom”, for every 2 retirees there is only 1 working man. Hence the riots.

But anyways..

In class we talked about how the video made us feel.

Within the first thirty minutes of the movie there is a scientist that said, “…having multiple children is like robbing a bank.” Because the more children you have the less resources there are, and that it is a selfish act. & I of course have some feelings about his analogy.

First off I don’t think that having children is selfish. I think that it is quite a selfless act. Everything you give up, put aside, and the sacrifices you make to start family isn’t an easy thing.

Deciding how many children to have is a personal choice.

In devotional this past Tuesday Julie B. Beck said something quite profound,she said that you have two opportunities to have a good family experience. The first is the one you are born into and the second is when you create your own. I think that there is truth in that. Having a family of your own is bound to be one of the greatest experiences of this life. I’m not ready to have a family right now by any means, but I do like the idea of having my own one day… When the time is right and I’m ready.

And to think that one day I will be responsible to provide the best family experience that I can for my children, quite the responsibility if you ask me..

Sister Beck also said that having a family is a key component of fulfilling God’s great commandment to be fruitful and replenish the earth. Having a family is key to our salvation.

Personally think that the decision of how many children to have solely rests with me, my spouse, and God.

Sometimes sitting in class I feel like I’m way too young, and way too single to be as opinionated as I am about some of the things we talk about.. taking many factors into consideration like how I’m not even seeing anyone.

But at least I’ve found most of what we have discussed to be quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

